This sums it up

I go way back with this team.  My mom and I used to watch Jets games together while my dad was at work.  She loved Joe Namath.  Go figure.  I grew up on Richard Todd, Freeman McNeil and Johnny Hector jumping over the pile for the TD.  Al Toon, Wesley Walker and Mickey Shuler catching passes while the NY Sack Exchange did their thing.  Fast forward to now.  Fast forward through all the agonizing losses, terrible injuries and pain this team has caused over the years.  Now, they’re the team that is playing for the AFC Championship for the second year in a row.  Now they have a chance to make the Super Bowl.  It is not like 1998 when they had to go into Denver against the eventual back-to-back champ Broncos with T.D. and some Elway guy.  Last year, they had a chance, but Peyton triumphed in the second half.  Something changed that day though.  For the first time ever though, I was happily SURPRISED by the team.  I had never had this team exceed my expectations in my life and they did that day. 

Beating Peyton in Indy in the final minute two weeks ago?  WOW!  Sweet revenge.  Even with Peyton missing many of his weapons, it’s still Peyton at home.  That was it for me, great season guys.  You did enough.  No chance in New England.  I really was praying throughout the game, “just don’t get embarrassed guys”.  Tom Brady got picked off in the 1st quarter.  Jets return it inside the 10 yard line.  Nick Folk missed a 30 yard field goal and they walked away with no points.  Oh no, here it comes.   But it didn’t.  The Jets took it to the Pats and won the game flat-out.  Brady looked confused and puzzled.  He was anticipating hits from the Gang Green D and the boys obliged.  He looked like Ken O’Brien back there!  Shocked doesn’t sum up how I felt after this game.  This kind of does http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QJshw2Axsqc

I know the talking (see above) from this team gets to folks.  Trust me, it gets to me sometimes.  I know ESPN harps on the talk and portrays the Jets as the villains.  Good versus bad still gets ratings.  I know some people think a coach going out there and saying we expect to win is brash.  What would you like him to say?  Would you like a canned answer or for him to not answer the question honestly?  Would you like him to say, “I think we are going to lose this one!”  Come on.

For those that have played competitive sports, you know the value of confidence on the psyche.  Not even just sports, all walks of life.  Confidence helps.  All you need is the belief and you will go after that much harder.  Rex motivates his players through the media, much like another coach who has had far more success, Phil Jackson.  It works.  Ask Kobe.  I question the amount of talk from some players (Cromartie), but I cannot question the results.  Sometimes I see non-stories made into stories (Tony and Mike on PTI, Speculatecenter is notorious for it) and see how that brings in the common fan.  But don’t lose sight of why Rex does it.  Yogi Berra once said, “90% of the game is half mental” and it still holds true.  Players will use the “haters” non-belief and negativity to build the chip on their shoulder.  The “us against the world” mentality might be one of the oldest tricks in the book, but it still works.

Can it be?  The Jets have a chance to make the Super Bowl again?  And some people are picking them to win in Pitt?  I obviously hope it happens, but won’t know what to do with myself if they do.   Is it Sunday yet?

Enjoy the games, I know I will

SGM

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

